Training Symposium

Emergency and Municipal Apparatus Maintenance and Repair Program

Every year, The Ohio Association of Emergency Vehicle Technicians holds the Emergency and Municipal Apparatus Maintenance and Repair Program. The program is an intensive 5-day symposium of classes, presentations and networking, which includes EVT Testing for Certification. The annual event is held at the Ohio Fire Academy in Reynoldsburg and is attended by EVTs from throughout Ohio.

We would like to acknowledge the hard work that made the 2022 30th Annual Emergency and Municipal Apparatus Maintenance Symposium great. It truly was a huge success with 10 daily classes to choose from, 121 people in attendance for the week, taking 178 certification or re-certification tests on Thursday night. A special thank you to the Ohio Fire Academy for the terrific facility and to Atlantic Emergency Solutions for the Tuesday night dinner and hospitality. Congratulations to Mike Rohr on receiving the EVT of the year award. OAEVT thanks you all for the great year.

Below are some important dates to be aware of along with the new list of Officers and Directors that was voted on at the annual meeting. We thank Glenn Jackson for his work while being the southeast director and welcome the new Southeast Director Zack Bergmann. We also welcome Ron Whitaker to the newly elected Director at Large position. We look forward to having these guys at the meetings with their ideas and knowledge to add to the OAEVT group.

September Meeting
Wednesday, September 20th, 2023
Time and location TBA

31st Annual Emergency & Municipal Apparatus Maintenance Symposium
Monday September 18, 2023 thru Friday September 22, 2023
Ohio Fire Academy
8895 E. Main St.
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068

Click here for more information


Director / Officer

Cell Phone

President – Michael Schaeffer


Vice President – Ed Starcovic


Executive Director – Al Conkle


Secretary/Treasurer – Patrick Guhde


Northeast Director – Seth Tackett


Northwest Director – Al Hasenfratz


Central Director – Doc Metzger


Southeast Director – Zack Bergmann


Southwest Director – Dave O’Connor


Director at Large – Ron Whitaker



Highlights from the 2022 Symposium

































































EVT Certification Commission, Inc.
P.O. Box 894
Dundee, IL 60118